ecobuild logo

 06-08 March 2018 / ExCeL, London

UK-GBC Rising Stars Announced

Saturday 3 September by: Ecobuild

Congratulations to the Rising Star Award 2017 winner, Clara Bagenal George, Elementa Consulting, who impressed the judges with a passion for the environment and the people who live in it.

It all began with a local campaign against single-use plastic bags and has resulted a journey to improve the environment that includes:

  • producing innovative design tools
  • challenging established planning policy
  • campaigning with charities, and
  • encouraging young engineers

Her level of enthusiasm and dedication is inspirational and the judges are looking forward to even greater achievements to come.

Well done to runner up Ben Hopkins, Bennetts Architects, who impressed the judges by demonstrating a broad array of communication techniques, ideas and incentives to engage audiences with the values of sustainability and bring about tangible action.

Watch the video here.

Thanks to all of the 2017 finalists:

  • Clara Bagenal George, Elementa Consulting
  • Dave Carlos, JLL
  • Edward Dale-Harris, SAWA (Socially Active Workshop Architecture) and Squire and Partners
  • Dr Phil Hampshire, BuroHappold Engineering
  • Ben Hopkins, Bennetts Associates
  • Evan Landy, UCL

UK Green Building Council and PRP launched the Rising Star Award in 2013, in memory of Mel Starrs, a prominent built environment practitioner and Associate Director at PRP, who sadly passed away in 2012. The award is an opportunity to nominate a colleague or peer who has made a real difference to the sustainability agenda and shine a light on their achievements.

Julie Hirigoyen, CEO, UK-GBC said: “It’s fantastic to see nominations for so many industry professionals who are going above and beyond their day-to-day role to highlight the importance of sustainability and drive lasting change. The many examples of stakeholder engagement, innovative communication, knowledge sharing and behaviour change are a credit to the individuals, their organisations and the sector as a whole.” 

Thanks again to everyone who has nominated a colleague or peer in the past five years, making this award a great success and a wonderful celebration of Mel.

Thanks also to this year’s judges: Claire Battles, Balfour Beatty; Su Butcher, Just Practising; Lindsey Malcolm, XCO2; Andrew Mellor, PRP; Lisa Pasquale, Six Cylinder (2016 winner) and Joseph Williams, UK-GBC.

Nominations for 2018 will open in October 2017.

In partnership with PRP. 

View all ecobuild News

Strategic Partners